Embracing the Chills in Mafikeng Nature Reserve: Bush Camping on the Coldest Weekend of the Year

As my lecturer drove into the Nature Reserve of Mahikeng on the night of July 21st, I thought to myself “We have been driving for a while, I wonder how much longer until I get to see this campsite…” and a few seconds after that thought, we arrived at our destination… But I promise; I am becoming more patient every day.

It’s the coldest weekend of the year, and I got to find many other Tourism students already engulfed by nature around a campfire as I arrived later from a competition in Rustenburg. I got shown where I could pick a tent and got my bags in it before excitedly joining the campfire. Dinner was just about being served and after a filling meal, I tried to ignore my fatigue by hanging around the fire a bit more. But my body was dozing in and out of sleep and I had to call it a night before midnight.

Our invite, itinerary, and checklist from the North West Parks Board’s Social Ecology Unit

The North West Parks Social Ecology Unit hosted us for a weekend Community Development Eco-Tourism camp covering all our meals and accommodation costs, needing us to only bring ourselves and a few necessary items for ourselves like sleeping bags, blankets, cutlery, and such. We had a packed itinerary and started Saturday morning with a walk across the nearby land.

Throughout our Walk, our Guide (Rre Sello) kept it interesting and interactive by telling us of the native plants like a plant we got to see that was used as tea years ago, warthog homes and how to move around them, and how rhinos mark their territories and much more. I was fascinated by the advanced knowledge of the North West natives, using termite homes as ovens amid long travel distances when hunting and or gathering. We got back to breakfast and a session with life coach and preacher, Reverend Sam Dipali, who reminded us of the power of managing our thoughts and being careful with the words we say. The Reverand also got into the importance of Mindfulness. The Knowledge of Self, Community and Narrative Therapy.

Top Left: Saturday Morning Walk | Top Right: Reverand Sam Dipale holding his heart dressed in dark brown with glasses| Bottom Left: Moeketsi from Small Enterprise Development Agency | Middle right: Motlange Obakeng | Bottom right: Nature Reserve Fieldworker Katlego Modimogale

Mrs. Rosa Modiba from North West University was right after him, and she gave us much-needed guidance on being an Academic, empowering us to study as much as we have the will to do so. We then heard from a speaker of the Small Enterprise Development Agency who works with the Township & Rural Entrepreneurship Program notifying us of a route to venture into if you are more business inclined, Mr Moeketsi also equipped us with information on the relevant resource centers to go to when ready to fund business funds.

We got to do a few calming stretching exercises with Coach B before listening to a couple more tales of DEDECT’s Recycling Projects’ on what they do and Mr. Bantsjijang got into Climate Change. We had the Reserve’s Fieldworkers, Katlego Modimogale and Galaletsang Gopane from the Anti-poaching Unit tell us of their experiences in the park and of their success in reducing rhino poaching in their reserve before Rre Sello had us on a beautiful short walk near our site to share with us the Park’s annual calendar, as well as some other group projects they have going on that’s community-based. We got plenty of interesting, thorough, and in-depth information on indigenous Tswana people’s knowledge of the protein-filled fruit of the Buffalo Thorn, its’ ritualistic uses, how its leaves protect people from lightning, and much, much more. I was laughing and entertained throughout this knowledge acquisition. He told us of the tree’s medicinal uses the metaphors of their leaves, and so much more.

After much enjoyed learning, aw we headed back to our campsit, I saw thee most beautiful sunset.

Unedited 🥺😍

Some of us got delegated to assist with making dinner while the others got to chill. I was alongside the braai master. I can’t tell you exactly what kind of meat we had on the hot grill, but I can guarantee you it was delicious. We got to then feast and had a night stretch session with Coach B after. There was a short presentation still shared with us and then we got to hang out. A small group managed of us to cross the night until the following morning. My body’s battery got flat just before sunrise. Before that, we had some beautiful conversations around the fire and shared insightful and heart-warming stories amongst this small group. The stars were the clearest I could remember ever seeing them and although my subconscious tried to ask me “What’s that sound? Did you see that move in the dark? Are you really safe here?”, I felt so much peace and bliss through that session.

The official Sunday morning, when we were all up, I started with half-packing as it was departure day and then got cleaned up before Reverand Dipale gave us a short Sunday sermon. It was then time for breakfast, and I must say I always love how healthy everything we got served remained. Eating under the trees near a water body as the sunrise rays kiss my skin is my example of heaven. I then packed up everything and joined the morning workout. After that, alongside some team-building exercises, we got fueled with another educative session; three presentations were shared with us.

Top Two: Rosa Modiba in the blue scarf on the right word hands in explanation mode; academic and career guidance counselor, articulation talk – Saturday afternoon | Second Row Left to Right: Saturday night on the campfire, and last stretch of the day | Third Row Left: The weekend’s bush kitchen after Sunday morning breakfast | Last 3 speakers:

One was by a social worker, Nthabiseng Moeno AKA “Pumpkin” who specializes in Gender-based Violence cases and is a Femicide Speaker who reminded us that we ought to live by love. And “You don’t destroy what you love.” Our closing-off presentation moved my heart, because grieving as he was, Mr. George Mosomako of DEDECT still showed up to give us guidance and encouragement in our careers despite his interpersonal sorrows.

We then got a word of thanks, gave a word of thanks, and headed to the bus. Of course, naturally, we began wishing the weekend was longer. Bush camping is such a fulfilling experience, I even forgot about it having been predicted as the coldest weekend of the year. Tents get so warm and the fire never stopped burning. There was a beautiful blend of learning and having fun, and I left feeling optimistic of my Tourism journey. Mafikeng Game Reserve held us well. I am so excited for my next camp.

Author: Julieta Aurelio

wealthy mind, body, soul, emotion

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started