maybe I really do not know love

I do not know what love is
though I am one willing to constantly learn
I do not know what love is
I expect fun from the beginning and gentleness through the not-so-fun times
maybe he is right; I do not know what love is

because I weave you a warm and safe space to crawl into and curl up in
and when you ask for breathing space or thinking space I let you step back with the assurance of finding me exactly where you may leave me
So maybe I don’t know what love is
I respect boundaries and consent is a big deal for me
and without safety or sanity, we can not be
I love being with you and I love being with myself
so when I need to step back to do my own thing,
I want you to not hold that against me, either
I will check up on you and communicate as often as I can, even about the times I don’t feel like talking
I don’t expect you to keep that against me
so maybe I don’t know love
my version of being madly in love is being attentive and graceful, gentle and understanding
when I am madly in love it is healthy and non-threatening
I actually want to get to know you
I want to take my time with you
I want to learn what gets you heated and what turns you cold

I am curious about your being, your joys, and your wellness. I want to know how my lover like their tea if at all, and what gets them to twitch, unlike the rushed proposal to marriage, I say let’s go on a hike so I get the pleasure of observing your smile of satisfaction on the peak.

I like details.

I know observation, without absorption.

The safe, sane worship is always enjoyed, being pampered and loved all the way through is my intention as I love…

So, maybe… I do know my definition of love, without matching yours, may be called something other than love… but to assume I’ll take in infatuation and label it purity while it’s un-reciprocated? I don’t… I won’t take that, love.

Author: Julieta Aurelio

wealthy mind, body, soul, emotion

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started