Album Review: Goddess Time by Victoria Leanna

Goddess Time is an affirming album with reminders of confidence and sacred being. This album got me to check out other work by Victoria Lenna and it led me to a little rabbit hole on her amazing Youtube Channel.

I have a rather average ear when it comes to music; the different types of vocals and beats don’t often catch my attention. What does grab me is good music, regardless of the genre. And I believe good music is a good mixture of all that makes it; great vocals, instrumentals, and sounds that flow easily and bomb lyrics. Goddess Time is good music; the storyline is beautiful and my holistic wealth cup of tea.

My favorite song on the album right now is the one that got me to look at my phone and have me play it back; Body to Body. This song helped me really get a glimpse of Victoria Leanna’s values and it follows smoothly with the storyline of other songs as well, such as Holy Matrimony. This album is real and timeless in the sense of it being very practical.

To some point, more artists must keep to this kind of art that seems to be dying in the music industry. Goddess Time as a whole kept me curious and although it held me the most because of the lyrics, I love how I could dance to it as well. There are beats for dance rituals that make me happy and even there the storylines grab you to willing chant mantras of greatness into your life. Victoria is unique, versatile and her flow has a cultural, sensual sense to it. Overall it invoked a Goddess feeling and got me not only to look into the artist everywhere else online beyond Spotify but her videos as well. Another thing that stood out so pleasingly is how I didn’t hear her swearing or cussing out, a great deal to someone cleaning their speech.

I knew from hearing her voice for the first time that I would enjoy her work, so there is not much I do not like. I could say generally the spark that got me listening to this sound from the beginning largely inspired me from a position of knowing what my vibe is. For a long time, my dominating music has been rap and hip-hop, but I  am now leaning towards a soft, classical, jazzy, indie vibe more and more. To get songs like Je Ne Sais Quoi that seem to blend all of the above-mentioned is a sweet touch. I am not a big fan of techno-like sounds, but the beauty of the theme is that it in itself is very fluid and that is how the whole album moves.

This album would be a delight to anyone who is invested in asserting and appreciating feminine energy. Folks who love to dance to not only a fun tune but words that are uplifting as well. Several songs could make it to different playlists so DJs would have fun with this album as well. The first few artists I would say match Victoria Leanna’s vibe is Jah9, Sa-Roc, Namakau Star, and OSHUN so if you vibe with them, you will enjoy Goddess time.  I would rate this album a neat 4.8/5.

Author: Julieta Aurelio

wealthy mind, body, soul, emotion

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started